Assistant Fire Chief Marshall Hutton and District Chief James Novick recently received the Chief Fire Officer Designation (CFOD) from The Center for Public Safety Excellence (CPSE).

In 1986, the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) and the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) came together to develop a framework for continuous improvement of the fire and emergency service. By 1996, this led to the formation of the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI) to award accreditation to fire and emergency service agencies. In 2000, the Commission on Chief Fire Officer Designation was established to credential fire and emergency service officers. In 2006, the corporation’s name was changed to the Center for Public Safety Excellence, with CFAI and the, now-titled, Commission on Professional Credentialing became entities under CPSE.

From its inception, CPSE has valued having a diversity of involvement from organizations, including IAFC, ICMA, the International Association of Fire Fighters, the National Fire Protection Association, the Insurance Services Office, and the Department of Defense on the CPSE board and commissions.

Chief Hutton and Chief Novick have accepted the challenge to move the Nation’s Fire Service forward to a higher standard of service. Fire Chief Russell received the CFOD in 2003. Chief Hutton, Chief Novick, and Fire Chief Russell are required to validate their CFOD every three years. The validation process includes specific training, research, career development, and peer review by the CPSE.

Chief Hutton and Chief Novick Receive the CPSE - CFOD

Chief Hutton and Chief Novick Receive the CPSE – CFOD