What is an ESD?

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a grassroots government created by voters in an area to fund fire protection, emergency medical services, or both. More than 300 districts are operating in Texas, and more are added at almost every uniform election date.

State Statute Regulating ESD Formation and Authority


In 2000, a group of citizens concerned with improving fire protection services in the Cloverleaf, North Channel and North Shore areas of East Harris County began the process of creating a Rural Fire Prevention District. The concerned citizens filed a request with Harris County defining political boundaries for a Rural Fire Protection District (taxation district) as permitted under State law. As part of the process, the concerned citizens lead a petition drive to place the creation of the Rural Fire Protection District to an official vote by registered voters in the affected areas of East Harris County. During 2001, an election was held, and the voters approved the creation of Rural Fire Protection District 12 (District). The new District contracted the Cloverleaf Volunteer Fire Department to provide fire protection services to the area within the District.

On September 1, 2003, Texas Senate Bill 1021 went into effect, changing the name of Rural Fire Protection Districts to Emergency Services Districts.

On February 11, 2013, at the request of the District’s Commissioners, the Cloverleaf Volunteer Fire Department hired a full-time Fire Chief.

On March 4, 2014, Harris County ESD 12 Commissioners adopted a resolution to discontinue the use of the contracted volunteer fire department and hire the existing Cloverleaf Volunteer Fire Department Fire Chief as the District’s first full-time Fire Chief.

On April 28, 2014 the District began providing round the clock fire protection services from two stations, using forty-two part-time Texas Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP) certified firefighters to staff two engine companies each with a minimum of four personnel and an incident command vehicle with a Chief Officer (Shift Commander).

During May 2018, the District completed transitioning to a full-time Fire Department.

Click on the About Fire Department “Tab” for information about the Fire Department.

District Map

Harris County ESD 12 District Map(Click Here For PDF Version)

District Commissioners

The District is governed by a Board of District Commissioners consisting of five (5) members, who manage and supervise all affairs of the District. Each District Commissioner is appointed to serve a staggered four (4) year term. The District’s current members are as follows: